top of page

Match Report - U14 Boys Division 5

Match Report - U14 Boys Division 5

Oughterard B 1-2 Kinvara Utd

Great start to the season winning away from home! Kinvara enjoyed good spells of possession and played the ball around confidently. Gavin Kennedy played well in goals, bravely coming off his line to save a number of times. The back 4 of Eoin Doody, Eoin Fordham (captain), Evan Carroll and Brian Cassidy Ó Máirtín defended cohesively and backed each other up well.

Aodhán O’Boyle and Dean Corcoran worked tirelessly in the middle of midfield, showing good awareness, skill and determination.

Wingers Cormac Brennan and Daragh Cooper attacked effectively down the flanks and Kinvara’s first goal came on 5 minutes through one of Daragh’s runs. He received the ball near the halfway line and beat his marker for pace before blasting his shot past the Oughterard keeper.

Michael Fee played an outstanding game in an advanced midfield role, making great runs, clever passes and tigerish tackles. It was Michael who scored the match winner. A great free kick by captain fantastic, Eoin, was parried by the keeper and Michael was the first to react, slotting the ball to the back of the net.

Cillian O’Donoghue was strong up front, showing well for the ball and proving a handful for the opposition defence.

Louis Darabi came on at left full back for Brian and, later, moved to the right. He played confidently and effectively in both positions.

Miguel Medina came on up front and, later, moved to the right wing. He showed excellent footwork and good decision making.

Brian returned to left back and finished the game in the middle, keeping good shape, showing good passing and dribbling and winning the ball back well in the tackle.

All in all it was a very enjoyable game, well refereed by Ed Ward, and played in great spirit by the team.

Kinvara Utd: Gavin Kennedy, Eoin Doody, Eoin Fordham (c), Evan Carroll, Brian Cassidy Ó Máirtín, Aodhán O’Boyle, Dean Corcoran, Cormac Brennan, Daragh Cooper, Michael Fee, Cillian O’Donoghue, Louis Darabi, Miguel Medina.

Management Team: Aoibheann Lindsay, Sinéad Morgan, Pádraig Ó Máirtín

186 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page